EventGhost with Logitech PS3 BT Adapter and Harmony Remote

If you have a question or need help, this is the place to be.

EventGhost with Logitech PS3 BT Adapter and Harmony Remote

Postby HyperEscape » Fri May 27, 2011 4:41 am

Hello,

I am a total beginner to start with Eventghost. My scenario is as follows:

1. Running Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit on Dell Optiplex 755. Bluetooth is a USB unbranded dongle working perfect with all devices.

2. I have a Logitech PS3 Bluetooth Adapter (not Sony BD Remote) which I have managed to pair with my computer. It is detected as "HID - Game Controller" and is paired and connected to the PC.
http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-Harmony-Adapter-PlayStation-3/dp/tech-data/B00267S7XW/ref=de_a_smtd

3. I have a Logitech Harmony 880 (IR) universal remote. I am trying to use it to control the media center (XBMC) running on the PC. Since I dont have an IR receiver, I am trying to use Logitech PS3 Bluetooth Adapter to accept incoming IR commands from Harmony and translate and trigger them on the PC using the bluetooth.

4. Searching around I saw that people have achieved this using Eventghost, which I installed too. Tried using a couple of already configured community shared configuration (XML) files, but none worked so far. Apparently when I run the file it searches for "Sony Remote" and "XBMC" plugins, which reportedly are missing.

5. I have noticed that in Eventghost plugins there is only a plugin for "Sony Bluetooth Remote" not for "Logitech PS3 Bluetooth Adapter ". The latter infact works as a Sony BT remote for the PS3, just with the added convenience that now PS3 can also be controlled via Harmony via this IR -> BT translator. Hence all such ready made configuration files are not of use to me, at least i haven't seen any other user trying for a similar setup.

6. Is there a possibility that I can get a plugin for "Logitech PS3 Bluetooth Adapter ". Any chances that it would work the same way.